Soar Through Berk: A Guide to Watching the How to Train Your Dragon Movies in Order

train your dragon

The “How to Train Your Dragon” franchise is a beloved epic saga soaring with adventure, heart, and stunning animation. But with several films, short films, and a television series, watching everything in the right order can be slightly confusing. Fear not, dragon riders! This guide will set you off on the perfect flight path through the world of Berk.

The Core Films:

  1. How to Train Your Dragon (2010): Start your journey with the film that sparked everything. Witness Hiccup, a scrawny Viking outcast, forge an unlikely friendship with a Night Fury dragon named Toothless. This movie sets the stage for the themes of acceptance, overcoming prejudices, and the power of friendship.
  2. How to Train Your Dragon 2 (2014): Five years later, Hiccup and Toothless are dragon riding heroes defending Berk. But when a mysterious dragon hunter emerges, their past returns to haunt them, leading to thrilling conflicts and emotional revelations.
  3. How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World (2019): The final chapter sees Hiccup as village chief, facing the difficult decision of whether to create a hidden haven for dragons or reveal their existence to the world. This poignant and thrilling conclusion brings the trilogy to a satisfying close.

Beyond the Core:

Several short films and a TV series expand the “How to Train Your Dragon” universe:

  • Legend of the Boneknapper Dragon (2010): Hiccup and friends investigate a legendary dragon, setting the stage for their future adventures.
  • Book of Dragons (2011): Hiccup narrates a hilarious guide to different dragon species, adding world-building details.
  • Gift of the Night Fury (2011): Explore the heartwarming story of how Toothless lost his tail and Hiccup found his best friend.
  • Dragons: Gift of the Night Fury (2011): Similar to the short film, but with additional scenes.
  • DreamWorks Dragons (2012-2018): This TV series takes place between the first two movies, offering further adventures and character development.
  • Dragons: Dawn of the Dragon Racers (2014): Introduces new characters and sets up the events of the second movie.
  • Dragons: Race to the Edge (2015-2018): Following the second movie, the series delves deeper into dragon lore and introduces new threats.
  • How to Train Your Dragon: Homecoming (2019): A short epilogue set after the third movie, showing Hiccup and Astrid returning to Berk with their children.

Watching Recommendations:

  • For a chronological experience, watch the short films followed by the core movies, then the TV series and the remaining short film.
  • For a release order experience, watch the core movies first, then the short films and the TV series.
  • Standalone: The core movies (1-3) are enjoyable even without the additional content.

No matter your chosen order, one thing is certain: the “How to Train Your Dragon” franchise offers incredible storytelling, animation, and characters that will capture your heart. So, spread your wings, take flight, and enjoy the journey!

Additional Tips:

  • Mention streaming platforms where viewers can find the movies and series.
  • Briefly highlight memorable moments or character arcs from each film or series to pique interest.
  • Discuss the overall themes and messages explored throughout the franchise.
  • Encourage readers to share their favorite moments or characters in the comments.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *